TPDR

Ambiguous Signalscapes – Axel Roch

Posted in MediaArt by tpdr on February 9, 2009

This installation by Axel Roch (de) which I have seenat the Transmediale Exhibition in Berlin end of last month. I was not allowed to take any pictures, which I found rediculous because you can all check out in this online pdf.

As you will also be able to read in the pdf, the visitor creates a landscape of mountains, just by looking at the screen in front of him/her. The landscapes the visitors, and me when I tried it out, reminded me of a 3D version of the album cover of Joy Divisio’s Unknown Pleasures – which was designed by Peter Saville and will always be my favourite album cover I guess. Anyway, except for this link, I also associated the installation with a Karensansui garden, better known as a Zen Garden or Japanese Rock Garden. Since I am interested in concepts that bring the macrocosm our the outside world into the personal world or microcosm of a temple garden, I think this relation between the installation and the karensansui garden is very interesting. In this type of zen garden, mainly used for meditation, gravel/sand represents water while rocks symbolize islands, boats, waterfalls, … . In fast the more white, the more interesting it seems to me. Just by shaping the gravel/sand and watching it for some time, one creates his/her own landscape, just like in this installation where you are confronted with a white screen which becomes a landscape just by focussing your eyes on the emptiness.

Just as a note in relation to my own research I notice emptiness and the possibilities that come with this emptiness, start to fascinate me more and more. In one of my previous posts I noticed my interest in the link between the concept of the Wunderkammer and the inspiration I got while working on a Transmedia project ‘Magenta Room’. In other words how I think a room stuffed with objects and an empty room, can generate similar thoughts, feelings, etc.

Leave a Reply

